Moon Sentry

“Hey! Come take a look at the moon. It’s everso bright tonight.” I called out to Thoughtful Man.

I stood in the doorway, shivering in the darkness, as Poppy stalked nocturnal creatures in the long grass of the garden. The last run out of the evening – her location only given away by her ramrod tail, like an antenna… ‘Taking a dump, here’.

Soft footsteps approached from behind before warm arms casually embraced my shoulders. “Oh my god, Looby, you stink!”

“Mum. I’m one of the top three thousand COD Black Ops 3 players in the world… I sweat.”

I gently lifted his arms and twirled away from beneath them. “Yes, well you need to have a wash before you go to bed.” I marveled at his hairy lankiness and tried to remember the last time I was able to pick him up.

“What’s up?” Thoughtful Man joined us, closely followed by an equally hairy but broad shouldered Kitten who’d been loitering around the fridge. Again.

“Look. I don’t think it’s full but the moon is really bright tonight.” I pointed out to the shimmering disc floating above the rooftops over the way.

‘Ums’ and ‘ahs’ and ‘Oh yeahs’ followed before Thoughtful Man pointed out the sentry.  “Look, he’s carrying a lance or a pike.”

Moon Sentry
Clicky for a Song

“What’s the other thing, then?” I asked as Poppy decided to rejoin the crowd.

“Dunno. Some sort of giant spider…”

I grabbed the handle and pulled the backdoor close. “Cheers! Thanks for that thought.” I shivered again, this time from the sensation of three separate hands making creepy crawlie movements on my back and head. “Bastards! Don’t do that!”

Poppy gave me her ‘pick me up’ look as the three men of the house moved away, howling with laughter.

34 thoughts on “Moon Sentry

    1. Um… well Clicky did… Can you just hang on a mo, Legstar?

      *Clicky! Here, a tin of sardines in tomato sauce, as per our bet. Damn! I really thought Leggy would bring ‘Blue Moon’*

      Like

      1. OMG. You have ruined tomato sauce for me forever. WTF is wrong with people. I mean, I don’t eat seafood at all but….ya know like….yeah! yuck Course, that’s why I almost starved to death my first week in Finland. Hey! The Okie went to someplace that has like 90% fish diet…HAHAHAH!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

              1. Yes, but the first time I flew was 10.5 hours from Dallas to Frankfurt. First time to ever fly…10.5 hour flight. That was over 30 years ago. I was hooked.

                Liked by 1 person

                1. You must have been a teenager – you just up and flew to Europe? Was it wanderlust?

                  My first flight was from London to Milan – a school skiing trip when I was 11. My first time on a plane and I was seated away from our group. Fortunately the couple I was sitting with were very nice; they fed me boiled sweets as we came in to land.

                  I wasn’t that keen on skiing – it was the only way I could go to Italy… and I really wanted to visit Italy.

                  Like

                    1. Welp, I’m working on it. Still trying to focus on walking. Doubt I’ll ever ski again, but maybe on snow since you don’t need a boat for that. God, I’d love to go to Italy.

                      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll have to think on this one a bit outside the obvious(s). BUT! For the time being…Crosses and Naughts. Oh and a few missing…dots. This is certainly a new one tho. THX OH! And I guess I shoulda mention a torus or two with that omega and mandalla. Oh well.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. still can’t decide if ‘m completely turned on, or completely repulsed by my man-‘duhrrrr’-isms. Am I too late?!?!?!? On the right track? Am I about to get spit on?!?!?! Will I like it!?!?!?! RAWR!! @#$@#!@#!@#!!

            Liked by 1 person

  1. Howling eh?

    Lord Lycan and the Tiger:

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3423484/Lord-Lucan-shot-fed-tiger-Breaking-40-year-silence-one-missing-peer-s-gambling-set-reveals-insists-REALLY-happened-hours-Lucan-killing-nanny.html

    Reflections, reflections: “One unnamed source told the Mirror: ‘The idea has not gone down too well in some quarters.'”. Waxing, waning, first quarter, third quarter and another Goody bee-cause we musn’t forget the Funky Gibbous. Or that Leo the Lion takes Pride in his work.

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3420898/Mirror-mirror-wall-s-proudest-police-officer-Force-spends-600-mirrors-staff-feel-PRIDE-work.html

    In the book, his name was Moon-Watcher. First thing he boned with his bone was a leo-pard.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know my posts and comments have been tedious and repititive over these past few years and what I am saying is absolute bonk hers 😉 but its an Odyssey (very odd you see) and its also about timing we have to enter through the forbidden doorway with a moonkey bone into S Inner Space and go past the guardian/s BlackJack 2 in.1 during an eclipse. They Jan and Janus have two heads so looking both ways left and right through the loo king (loki) or is it Moo King gl ass but they have a blindspot……bee hind….

        just watch out she likes to bite and chew on your bone which is how Osirius lost his and Isis ended up with all her priests cat strated.

        you have to become a runner to escape the cat and dog ma star Under the Domed City (Edom) to reach Sanctuary…..

        Ok its official I am a pervert I expect the S panus h inquisition Maat DeMoon Surprise Surprise put me on the off end her list.

        I https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WJXHY2OXGE

        Liked by 1 person

    1. spoonerism (n.)

      1900, but according to OED in use at Oxford as early as 1885, involuntary transposition of sounds in two or more words (such as “shoving leopard” for “loving shepherd,” “half-warmed fish” for “half-formed wish,” “beery work speaking to empty wenches,” etc.), in reference to the Rev. William A. Spooner (1844-1930), warden of New College, Oxford, who was noted for such disfigures of speech. A different thing from malapropism.

      http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?allowed_in_frame=0&search=spoonerism

      Like

Leave a Reply

