Talking to The Doctor: Shiny Dishes

Dr Mike Barrett in ‘Casualty’?

‘After playing several minor roles in other Hollywood films such as White Hunter Black Heart (1990) and Alien 3 (1992), Mantle was cast as consultant Dr Mike Barrett in the BBC television hospital drama series Casualty. He became one of its most popular characters, renowned for his convincing and authoritative portrayal and “dishy doc” persona.’

Dishy & Shiny

Reading down the wiki entry, Shiny, I realise that I’ve seen him in the flesh, too, though not to talk to. It was before he became Casualty’s Dishy Doc. It was at the theatre…

‘In 1991-2 he played Dave in Sandi Toksvig’s “The Pocket Dream” at the Nottingham Playhouse and Albery Theatre in London.’

I don’t really remember the play itself that much but I do remember it being a bitterly cold night. It was late starting because of a blackout, and fingers, toes and tip of nose were starting to go numb whilst waiting to be let inside.

You can see the programme, here, next to ‘Misery’

I worked with a giant called ‘Pip‘ 😉

Pip was very interesting character and lovely friend from my days at the JLP. Her next door neighbour was an actual movie stunt woman. It was through Pip that I briefly met Sean Bean

Just to say “Hello” when we went to collect Pip and her husband from some awards night for Stunt People in a London hotel (we offered to put them up for the night – whilst they were still partying, we went to see the late night showing of ‘Dracula’ at Leicester Square). It was that Pip actually tried to suck his face off 😉

Roob what do you think the spoon represents?

Poons, Shiny. That’s where Thoughtful Man took me to dinner, on my birthday (the first we shared together), before taking me to see ‘Buddy‘ – see above image for the programme.

*FLASH FORWARD*

Tonight I watched a saved episode of ‘Pointless’ whilst ironing the boys’ school uniform for their last morning of school tomorrow, before the Christmas break…

Pointless watched on 171215

Richard Osman was very funny about the couple that looked like Tic Tacs

TIC Harlie TAC Hris

 

Tomorrow I will be finally free from my current employment and it’s scary because I’ve never been unemployed before and besides, redundancy hurts…

Doctor Hurt

Released…

Dishy Doc and Shiny

I think I’ll spend some time on ‘The Shining Forward/\Backwards‘ and maybe properly describe what 137 is. I’ve seen it; I know I’ve put it down somewhere 😉

But don*t cha know, I’ll be gal-i-venting across the Read, Bloo and Y’Ello Universes. You knever know I might even have time to do the washing up…

It’s goo goo g’joob that I’ll always be your ‘Impossible Girl’. Defo 😉

 

Hear, have a Song from the LoL

*This is a Roob-x clue for u

Flash Forward is a clue 2 or1 to go infront of x37
Humanity blacked out for exactly 137 seconds or 2 mins 17 secs. 217 is the room number in Stephen King’s The Shining. In Stanley Kubrick’s version it was 237.
7 thoughts on “Talking to The Doctor: Shiny Dishes

  1. Roob love what you have done to the place…its strange how events from the distant past are now becoming relevant once again and meeting Mr Mantle was a bit like meeting the Bonekicker at the Globe during a Midsummers Night Dr eam I had to look up twice as they are both very tall.

    the number 23 has always been close to me as thats my birthday in regards to seven well thats Eve the Holy Spirit and her seven aspects the Seven Sisters…..Sanctuary.37/73 just me rambling again 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Legsy…

      ‘Doctor Who originally ran for 26 seasons on BBC One, from 23 November 1963 until 6 December 1989. During the original run, each weekly episode formed part of a story (or “serial”) — usually of four to six parts in earlier years and three to four in later years.’

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctor_Who#Episodes

      ‘It has been claimed that the transmission of the first episode was delayed by ten minutes due to extended news coverage of the assassination of US President John F. Kennedy the previous day; whereas in fact it went out after a delay of eighty seconds.[19] The BBC believed that many viewers had missed this introduction to a new series due to the coverage of the assassination, as well as a series of power blackouts across the country, and they broadcast it again on 30 November 1963, just before episode two.

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctor_Who#Public_consciousness

      And the rest, as they say, is His Story 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

